18.6 C
Thursday, July 11, 2024

List of Fine Gael TDs not contesting next general election into double figures

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

Fine Gael Faces Exodus: 10 TDs Opt Out of Next Election

The landscape of Fine Gael, one of Ireland’s prominent political parties, is undergoing a significant shift as a notable portion of its sitting TDs have declared they won’t be seeking re-election. Among the 33 current Fine Gael TDs, a staggering 10 have already announced their departure from electoral politics, leaving a notable void within the party’s ranks.

The exodus began in May 2022, when Joe McHugh made his decision public, setting the tone for subsequent announcements. Since then, a steady stream of resignations has followed, each name representing years of service and contribution to the party.

In January 2023, Brendan Griffin signaled his departure, followed by John Paul Phelan and Michael Creed in April of the same year. May saw Dave Stanton bow out, with Richard Bruton and Charlie Flanagan announcing their decisions in September. November brought the news of Fergus O’Dowd’s exit, while February 2023 marked Paul Kehoe’s departure. The most recent announcement came from Ciaran Cannon in March 2023, completing the list of departing TDs.

The reasons behind each resignation vary, from personal choices to shifts in political priorities. However, collectively, this exodus raises questions about the future direction of Fine Gael and its ability to maintain its position in Irish politics.

As the party prepares for the next election cycle, the departure of these seasoned politicians underscores the need for renewal and rejuvenation within Fine Gael’s ranks. The challenge now lies in identifying and nurturing new talent to fill the void left by these departing stalwarts, ensuring the party remains relevant and competitive in the ever-evolving landscape of Irish politics.

May 2022 – Joe McHugh
Jan 2023 – Brendan Griffin
April 2023 – John Paul Phelan
April 2023 – Michael Creed
May 2023 – Dave Stanton
September 2033 – Richard Bruton
September 2023 – Charlie Flanagan
November 2023 – Fergus O’Dowd
February 2023 – Paul Kehoe
March 2023 – Ciaran Cannnon

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here